top of page

A Thank You Note From a Teenage Son to his Family

On the fourth Thursday of November, the United States celebrates Thanksgiving Day. As we ready to gather with friends and family and reflect upon this past year and the blessings it has brought, we at International Autoimmune Encephalitis Society felt that there was no greater or more poignant expression of thanks than a letter a young member wrote to his family recently. We are grateful to Patrick for giving us permission to share his letter with all of you.

It reads: (SEE BENEATH IMAGE)

To Mom, Dad and Aine,

I cannot express how thankful I am for you guys helping me with my medical situation and with my school work such as studying, multiplication and for tests. If it were not for your perseverance to diagnose me and get me well, I would likely be in a much more troublesome state than I currently am. As much of a handicap infusions are, they also get me better and more healthy. I would like to thank Aine for chugging along through drives to Little Rock, Springfield, and Rochester. She didn’t choose to go on them, so I enjoy her support. Her support has been a pillar of stability through these harsh times. While at times my life has been a living nether, it is my one and only life and I may as well enjoy it while it lasts. Your continued support is much appreciated. From, Patrick Nov-6-17; HE

Happy Thanksgiving to All, From IAES

Art by: AE Warrior, Julia King

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page